

MALL Minnesota Association of Law Libraries Annual Report 2020 – 2021

The Minnesota Association of Law Libraries Board of Directors for 2020-2021 included Patrick Butler, President; John Murphy, Vice President; Nicole Catlin, Secretary/Treasurer; Kallie Wass, Member at Large; and Abby Walters, Past President.

The Executive Board and the Association's Committees were all very busy over the year. Because of the economic uncertainty of the time, one of the first actions of the Executive Board was to create and approve a new Hardship Grant that covers the Association dues for any member facing job loss, reduced hours, furloughs, or other economic hardship. Two members took advantage of the Hardship Grant. The Executive Board decided to keep and publicize this grant for any member with a need in the future.

Another new initiative from the Executive Board included the creation of a Diversity and Inclusion Committee. In the first year, the Diversity and Inclusion Committee already had a positive influence on the programming offered by the Association.

The Executive Board also updated MALL's Mission Statement to make sure it reflected the Association's commitment to a culture that promotes diversity in both its membership and in the law librarian profession.

Finally, the Executive Board revised and updated the Association's Bylaws. The new Bylaws were voted on and adopted by the Membership at the Winter Meeting in March 2021. The majority of the changes were updating the language to more accurately reflect the modern methods of communication, the incorporation of recommendations from AALL's Bylaw's Committee, and the updating and prioritizing the Antidiscrimination clause.

The Website Committee completed and launched a totally revamped website for the Association. The new website includes all the necessary functionality with a more modern appearance.

The newly elected Executive Board members for the 2021-2022 year are Andrew Martineau, Vice President and Elizabeth Hadden-Peck, Secretary/Treasurer.

Respectfully Submitted,

Patrick Butler, Immediate Past President